Meet Our Faculty

    , PharmD, FCCP, FCP

    Department Head of Pharmacy Practice, University of Connecticut, School of Pharmacy; Co-director, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Evidence-based Practice Center

    Dr. White received his B.S. in Pharmacy in 1994 and his Pharm.D. in 1996 from the Albany College of Pharmacy.  He completed a Fellowship in Cardiovascular Outcomes Research at Hartford Hospital in 1998.  Dr. White joined the faculty at the University of Connecticut School of Pharmacy in 1998 and in 2008 was appointed a full Professor of Pharmacy Practice.   He was named the Department Head of Pharmacy Practice in July 2011 and continues in that role. 

    Dr White has been the co-director of an Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality Evidence-based Practice Center from since 2007, one of only 13 designated centers in North America and the only based in a School of Pharmacy. His work has been published in JAMA, Lancet, Annals of Internal Medicine and Circulation with research coverage by NBC Nightly News, Good Morning America, BBC, CNN and other international media outlets.  He is an ACCP Young Investigator of the Year, AACP Lyman Award Winner, and five time ASHP Foundation Drug Therapy Research Award recipient.  In 2016 he received the ASHP Award for Sustained Contributions to the Literature, a lifetime achievement award for scholarly excellence.  His 320 publications resulted in 10,972 citations and an H-index of 56, placing him within an elite group of researchers. Dr. White’s research interests are in the areas of comparative effectiveness and preventing adverse events from drugs, devices, herbs, and illicit substances.  He has a weekly TV segment on Fox61, a book entitled The Part-Time Diet, numerous OpEd pieces and interviews for major media groups, and was on the Dr Oz Show sharing medical news. He is a University Teaching Fellow, the highest teaching award bestowed by the University of Connecticut. He is also a Fellow of the American College of Clinical Pharmacologists and The American College of Clinical Pharmacy.