IMPORTANT: We are experiencing some technical issues and cannot accept credit card payments at this time. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Please check back later to complete your purchase.

🌸 SPRING SALE - 20% OFF MEMBERSHIP - USE CODE: SPRING20 🌸

Kentucky BOARD OF PHARMACY |
CE REQUIREMENTS | LIVE CERT

Last Updated: August 30, 2023

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

License Deadline: 12/31 Annually

15 Hours

  • 15 General

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

Kentucky Board of Pharmacy

Kentucky CE Requirements For Pharmacists

Verify a pharmacist license via the Kentucky Board of Pharmacy website here.

Each pharmacist’s license expires annually on February 28th. Licensees can begin renewal the first week of January each year. Each applicant must submit a renewal application with required fees. These may be submitted online via the payment portal system or the application may be printed and mailed in to the Kentucky Board of Pharmacy at:

State Office Building Annex, Suite 300 125 Holmes Street Frankfort, KY 40601

A license is considered lapsed if it has not been renewed within 30 days of the above mentioned expiration date.

  • Currently, there is no designation requiring live CE. All CE may be obtained through home study for the years 2023-2028. 
  • Additional hours may NOT be applied to the next renewal year.
  • Licensees should maintain CE records for 3 years for board verification purposes.
  • All CE must be ACPE or Board approved in order to be applied.
  • Kentucky utilizes the NABP CPE monitor to track CE hours.

 

Annual Continuing Education Requirements

Required Subject Area

Required Number of Hours

General Pharmacist CE

15 

Opioid Epidemic/Opioid Use Disorder

1, for renewal years 2023-2028

We cannot guarantee this is the most up-to-date version of this code section. Please refer to the Kentucky Code for the most accurate information.   The most up-to-date laws in the state of Kentucky referring to continuing education may be found here. Relevant sections are outlined below:
  • Section 2. (1) Continuing education hours for credit shall be relevant to the practice of pharmacy and free of commercial bias. (2) Continuing education hours shall be approved if approved by: 
    • (a) The Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE); or 
    • (b) The board. 
  • Section 5. (1) A pharmacist shall: 
    • (a) Complete a minimum of one and five-tenths (1.5) CEU (fifteen (15) contact hours) annually between January 1 and December 31; 
    • (b) For licensing years 2023 through 2028, one (1) contact hour of the fifteen (15) contact hours shall be on the opioid epidemic or opioid use disorder; and 
    • (c) Not transfer or apply excess hours or units for future years.
  • Section 5. (2) A pharmacist may be granted a deferral on a year-to-year basis at the determination of the board for illness, incapacity, or other extenuating circumstances. 
  • Section 5. (3) A pharmacist first licensed by the board within twelve (12) months immediately preceding the annual renewal date shall be exempt from the continuing pharmacy education provisions for that year. 
  • Section 5 (4) Pharmacists shall: 
    • (a) Keep valid records, receipts, and certifications of continuing pharmacy education programs completed for three (3) years; and 
    • (b) Submit that documentation to the board upon request. 
 
In order to obtain a license in the state of Kentucky after being a licensed pharmacist in another state, the licensee must take and pass the Kentucky MPJE. Upon receiving a passing score on MPJE you must complete a license transfer application via the NABP. The board requires a fee of $275 to complete the application. Lastly, the applicant must complete a criminal background check prior to licensure.
  • In the state of Kentucky a pharmacist is required to complete 15 hours of CE each renewal year.
  • Take and pass both the NAPLEX and Kentucky MPJE
  • Pay required fees via the Board of Pharmacy portal payment system
  • Complete a criminal background check 

Finding engaging and affordable online CE is important for pharmacists in Kentucky. It can be difficult to find what you need to meet the requirements that Kentucky has set forth. If you are looking for live online CE that covers the topics required by the state of Kentucky, like the Opioid Epidemic or Opioid Use Disorder, you can unlock unlimited access to freeCE’s live calendar by upgrading to a Gold Membership. At one low price, you may access all of the CE you will need to renew your license each year in one place saving you time, money, and energy searching for options that fit your needs. Explore freeCE’s packages here.

freeCE has a wide variety of Kentucky-approved CE activities. freeCE adds new content to the catalog regularly to allow you to meet your requirements yearly, but also choose activities that will interest you the most. freeCE activities are available both live and on-demand to cater to your needs.

Kentucky CE Requirements For Pharmacy Technicians

  • All technician licenses expire annually on March 31st 
  • A $25 fee is required for renewal. Starting April 1st, an additional $25 delinquent fee will be applied to the applicants account.
  • Utilize the online renewal system using this link.
  • Applicants up for renewal will need the permit number for their place of employment, social security number, technician registration number, and Adobe Reader to print the new certificate

Currently, pharmacy technicians are not required to obtain continuing education in the state of Kentucky. Technicians must maintain current national certification if practicing as a certified pharmacy technician.

Become a certified pharmacy technician by completing and passing a Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam administered by the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board or Examination for the Certification of Pharmacy Technicians by the National Healthcareer Association. Register with the state of Kentucky as a new technician through an online system here and pay the required fees.
  • $25 for a new application and $25 for each additional renewal

Although at this time Kentucky does not require CE for pharmacy technicians, requirements may change annually. Pharmacy is a fast-paced and always evolving career field. Stay up-to-date as these evolutions take place by utilizing freeCE’s variety of membership options. Explore the wealth of information available to you with a freeCE membership here.

View More State Information

A  C  D  F  G  H  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  U  V  W

A

C

D

F

G

H

Close

TRY FREECE FOR
FREE FOR 30 DAYS!

Welcome to our ALL NEW Website

If you already have a freeCE account, click “Account Login” in the navigation bar.

UNLOCK
15% OFF YOUR
PURCHASE

Sign up to PharmCon’s newsletter
to get exclusive discounts on
courses, study tools, and more!