IMPORTANT: We are experiencing some technical issues and cannot accept credit card payments at this time. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Please check back later to complete your purchase.


Vermont Board of Pharmacy |
CE Requirements

Last Updated: December 26, 2023

License Deadline: 7/31/2025

30 Hours

  • 10 Live
  • 20 General

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

Vermont Board of Pharmacy

Vermont CE Requirements For Pharmacists

Vermont Board of Pharmacy licensees must renew their licenses biennially to maintain the right to practice. Renewal applications are due by July 31 of odd-numbered years. The biennial license renewal fee is $145.

Biennial Continuing Education Requirements

The Vermont Board of Pharmacy requires 30 continuing education (CE) hours to be completed every 2 years prior to the renewal date of July 31. Of the required hours, 10 must be completed in a live setting.

Total Hours 







Additional CE Requirements

  • If authorized to administer vaccines, 2 hours of CE related to immunizations will be required during each renewal cycle. 
  • If authorized to prescribe or dispense controlled substances, 2 hours of CE related to immunizations will be required during each renewal cycle.

Administrative Rules of the Board of Pharmacy: Part 3 Continuing Pharmacy Education


3.1 Definitions

(a) ACPE: Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education

(b) AMA: American Medical Association

(c) Live Programs (didactic sessions): Covers all programs that provide for direct interaction

between faculty and participants and may include lectures, symposia, live teleconferences, and workshops.

3.2 Continuing Pharmacy Education (CPE) Requirements: The licensee must complete a

total of 30 CPE hours per renewal period. A minimum of ten hours shall be obtained during

participation in live programs (didactic sessions). Continuing pharmacy education participation must be reported every two-year renewal period. For newly-licensed pharmacists, see Rule 3.11 below.

3.3 Limits: CPE hours may not be transferred or carried over from one renewal period to


3.4 Corrective Plan: A licensee who fails to fulfill the continuing pharmacy education requirements of these rules may be required by the Board to develop and complete a specific

corrective action plan within 90 days.

3.5 Hardship Waiver: Upon a showing a hardship, the Board may in its sole discretion waive

the continuing pharmacy education requirement. To apply for a waiver, the licensee must submit a written statement setting forth the conditions of hardship with specificity. After review, the Board shall send written notification of its decision, and the reasons therefore, to the licensee.

3.6 Out of State Licensees: A licensee residing and licensed in another jurisdiction is required

to meet the continuing pharmacy education requirements for license renewal in Vermont.

3.7 Topics and Formats of Study: Topics and formats of study shall include subject matter

designed to maintain the professional competence of pharmacists licensed to practice and to improve their professional skills in order to protect the public health and safety.

3.8 Documentation and Approval: Providing documentation of continuing pharmacy

education in Board-approved programs may be required to maintain licensure.

(a) All ACPE and AMA Category I approved programs and programs approved by pharmacy

boards in other states may be approved by this Board.

(b) Organizations or licensees may have a program approved in advance by submitting the

program outline, including learning objectives, and the names and qualifications of the

presenters to the Board. After review, the Board shall send written notification of its decision

to the organization or licensee.

3.9 Verification of Continuing Pharmacy Education: Pharmacists shall provide the Board

with verification of completion of the required continuing pharmacy education programs by such

means as designated by the Board. The Board may conduct random audits to verify completion of continuing pharmacy education up to four years after a license is renewed. Licensees must retain continuing education records to cover this period. Upon request by the Board, the licensee shall submit certificates of completion for all programs listed in the licensee’s renewal application.

3.10 Audits: All reinstatements of inactive or expired licenses shall be audited and shall be

accompanied by documentation of continuing pharmacy education. During each biennial renewal period, the Board may audit the continuing pharmacy education activities of a random sample of pharmacists. The Board may also audit currently conditioned licensees and licensees who in any of the preceding 3 renewal cycles were initially found to have not met continuing education renewal requirements. Pharmacists shall submit for inspection the documents necessary to verify the reported continuing pharmacy education.

3.11 Newly Licensed Pharmacists

(a) For applicants granted an initial license to practice by the Board, accumulation of CPE’s shall

commence on the opening date of the first biennial renewal period following receiving initial Vermont licensure.

(b) For those licensees granted an initial license within 90 days of the end of the licensing

period/renewal date and who are not then required to renew their licenses, the continuing education requirement begins with the first day of the biennial licensing period so that all people licensed for two years at the time of their first renewal must show compliance with the continuing education



We cannot guarantee this is the most up-to-date version of this code section. Please refer to the Vermont Code for the most accurate information.

The Vermont State Board of Pharmacy does allow for licensure by reciprocity for pharmacists if licensed in another state/territory. The applicant must: 

The Vermont State Board of Pharmacy requires a minimum of 30 continuing education hours every 2 years. The CE requirement must be fulfilled by the renewal date of July 31 of odd-numbered years.

A pharmacist license may be obtained through examination or reciprocity. To obtain licensure via examination, the applicant must:
  • Complete the Vermont Licensure Application through the Vermont OPR’s Online Services Platform and pay the application fee of $155
  • Request official college/school of pharmacy transcripts be sent directly to the Board via mail or email (
  • Proof of 1740 total hours of practical experience, 500 of which are non-school related intern experience
  • Register and pass the NAPLEX and MPJE at NABP

In Vermont, the Board requires the completion of 10 live continuing education (CE) hours to renew a pharmacist license. Choosing to participate in live online sessions with freeCE will provide access to a variety of educational opportunities that are designed to promote professional development.

For a more convenient and comprehensive approach to utilizing our self-paced learning and interactive online courses, we suggest enrolling in the freeCE Gold Membership today. With this membership, you gain unrestricted daily entry to all live sessions and on-demand training options, granting you the flexibility to structure a schedule that accommodates your personal needs.

freeCE simplifies the journey of professional growth and educational development, allowing for a simple, accessible, and cost-effective experience. freeCE offers a wide variety of educational materials, allowing pharmacists to select subjects that align with their interests or areas of expertise.

Vermont CE Requirements For Pharmacy Technicians

Vermont-licensed pharmacy technicians must renew their licenses biennially to maintain the right to practice. Renewal applications are due by July 31 of odd-numbered years with a renewal fee of $85.

Additionally, pharmacy technicians will be required to maintain national certification through a program such as the PTCB. CPhT Certificants must complete 20 CE hours every 2 years to renew. Applicants must complete and submit their application by the appropriate deadline, which corresponds to the initial day of the certification expiration month.

The Vermont Board of Pharmacy does not require registered technicians to complete continuing education hours for the renewal of licensure. If the technician is nationally certified, refer to the appropriate licensing body such as PTCB for more information on their respective requirements.

To become a registered pharmacy technician, the applicant must: 

Although Vermont does not mandate ongoing education for pharmacy technicians, freeCE serves as an educational platform for individuals to actively pursue their aspirations and interests. Our platform presents a diverse array of accredited learning opportunities, ranging from engaging webinars and on-demand sessions to written activities. This diverse selection ensures that you can customize your learning journey according to your preferred learning approach and interests.

By choosing freeCE, you unlock the convenience of online learning, allowing you to complete courses at your own pace and from any location that suits you. This flexibility allows you to effectively balance both professional and educational responsibilities, making it more feasible than ever to concurrently attain your career and educational goals. To discover the membership option that aligns with your goals, we invite you to explore our website by clicking here.

View More State Information

A  C  D  F  G  H  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  U  V  W









Welcome to our ALL NEW Website

If you already have a freeCE account, click “Account Login” in the navigation bar.


Sign up to PharmCon’s newsletter
to get exclusive discounts on
courses, study tools, and more!