IMPORTANT: We are experiencing some technical issues and cannot accept credit card payments at this time. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Please check back later to complete your purchase.

🌸 SPRING SALE - 20% OFF MEMBERSHIP - USE CODE: SPRING20 🌸

Nevada Board of Pharmacy |
CE Requirements

Last Updated: December 28, 2023

License Deadline: 10/31/2024

30 Hours

  • 30 General

License Deadline: 10/31/2024

12 Hours

  • 12 hours of in-service training

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

Nevada Board of Pharmacy

Nevada CE Requirements For Pharmacists

License verification is available instantly online using this link. Simply input the name of the license holder you wish to verify and submit to check status.
In the state of Nevada, Pharmacist licenses expire annually on October 31st with renewal beginning September 1st of each year. Once the licensee has completed the required CE for that renewal year, if required, then renewal can be done completely online by visiting this section of the Nevada Board of Pharmacy website and submitting required fees.  If it is your first time renewing you will be prompted to create a temporary login prior to continuing the process online. The Nevada Board of Pharmacy online portal accepts all major credit/debit cards for renewal fees. Information is updated up to 3 days after submission of completed documents and the licensee will receive an email with their new updated license. 

Biennial Continuing Education Requirements

Required Subject Area

Required Number of Hours

Total Hours30 hours

Accredited Programs

15 hours

State Law

1 hour every two years

Immunizations 

  • Must be in area of disease life cycle, drugs, or administration

2 hours by October 31st of each year

Additional CE Requirements

Please note, if the pharmacist will be administering immunizations in the state of Nevada they are required to obtain 2 hours annually rather than bi-annually. Additionally, all pharmacists are required to obtain 1 hour of Nevada Law for each renewal period. 

We cannot guarantee this is the most up-to-date version of this code section. Please refer to the Nevada Code for the most accurate information.

“NAC 639.205  Application to register as pharmacist: Completion required within 1 year. (NRS 639.070, 639.127)  An applicant for a certificate as a registered pharmacist must provide all information and make all appearances required by the Board within 1 year after having successfully passed the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination prepared by the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy. An applicant who does not provide all information and make all appearances required by the Board within 1 year after having successfully passed the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination must submit a new application.”

“NAC 639.208  Qualifications: Practical pharmaceutical experience as intern pharmacist. (NRS 639.070, 639.120)  For the purposes of paragraph (d) of subsection 1 of NRS 639.120, an applicant for a certificate as a registered pharmacist in this State must complete 1,740 hours of practical pharmaceutical experience as an intern pharmacist under the direct and immediate supervision of a registered pharmacist.”

“NAC 639.210  Educational qualifications: Approval of accredited programs of education in pharmacy. (NRS 639.070, 639.120)  For the purpose of determining the educational qualifications of applicants to become registered pharmacists, the Board hereby approves all colleges of pharmacy and departments of pharmacy of universities which are accredited by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.”

“NAC 639.220  Schedule of fees; penalty for late renewal; exemptions from certain fees. (NRS 639.070, 639.170)”

Please see this last section of Nevada Pharmacy Law on the Board of Pharmacy website to see a current schedule and list of fees for initial or renewal of licensure, examination fees, late fees, etc,. 

In order to complete license reciprocity in Nevada the out-of-state licensee must take and pass the Nevada MPJE, contact NABP to transfer current NAPLEX score to the state of Nevada, complete the following application (application) and mail to the address at the top of the form with a money order or cashier’s check made out to the Nevada State Board of Pharmacy in the amount of $330.00. This fee does not cover the cost of the Nevada MPJE. The applicant has 1 year to complete all requirements once they submit the application to the Board.

If reciprocating from California, the licensee must have taken and passed the Naplex after 1/1/2004.

Every two years the pharmacist must complete 30 hours of CE to remain licensed in the state of Nevada. Of these 30 hours, at least half of them must be obtained from a program that is accredited by an accrediting body such as ACPE. Additionally, 1 of the 30 hours every two years should be in the area of Nevada Law. 

If immunizing, the pharmacist must complete 2 hours by October 31st of each year. 

Upon completion of an ACPE accredited College of Pharmacy program and passing of the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination an applicant has one year from date of passing to complete licensure documents. The applicant must obtain 1,740 hours of practical experience as an intern under direct supervision of a pharmacist registered in the state of Nevada. Once these requirements have been met, the applicant must pay the required fees and submit required paperwork, to include fingerprints, via the Nevada Board of Pharmacy Online Portal. To obtain copies of the paperwork needed, please visit this link here.

CE that a pharmacist in Nevada obtains can be many different formats such as lecture, classes, or correspondence courses that the licensee obtains live or by pre-recording. All 30 hours of CE may be completed via correspondence courses from home.

freeCE has a wide variety of Nevada-approved CE activities. freeCE adds new content to the catalog regularly to allow you to meet your requirements yearly, but also choose activities that will interest you the most. freeCE activities are available both live and on-demands to cater to your needs. Visit freeCE to explore free and premium content to help complete the 30 hours of correspondence courses you need to maintain licensure in the state of Nevada.

Nevada CE Requirements For Pharmacy Technicians

Pharmacy technicians in Nevada need a total of 12 hours of continuing education every two years. Whether employed or not, each pharmacy technician renewing will be required to obtain 1 hour of approved Nevada Law CE. The Pharmacist manager of the technician licensee must approve the training and maintain a written record as well. These records should include date of training, hours obtained during training and are to be kept in the pharmacy and will be viewed by the Board annually. 

 

Annual/Biennial Continuing Education Requirements

Required Subject Area

Required Number of Hours

In-service training

12 hours every two years

Nevada Jurisprudence

  • Approved by the board

1 hour

To become a pharmacy technician in the state of Nevada, the licensee must have received a high school diploma or GED, complete a criminal background check, complete a program approved by the Board that is accredited by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists and recognized by the PTCB, obtain 1,500 hours of experience through employment or through a pharmacy technician in training licensure, and complete a drug test. 

  • An applicant for pharmacy technician licensure in the state of Nevada may be licensed in another state and can apply for licensure in Nevada once completing 240 hours of employment as a technician.
  • If previous states don’t require licensure or registration as Nevada does, then the applicant must complete 1500 hours of experience within 3 years of obtaining licensure, 350 hours of employment, and a letter of recommendation from the supervising pharmacist validating the applicant’s training. 
  • At the time of meeting these requirements, the applicant may obtain a pharmacy technician in training license. 

Please find the application to apply for pharmacy technician licensure in Nevada at this link. 

Pharmacy technicians have busy schedules and need creative ways to earn CE credit whenever and wherever. If you need CE fast, freeCE’s comprehensive catalog of on-demand is perfect for you. When you buy a freeCE unlimited CE package, you get 24-7 access to hundreds of hours of on-demand CE, with plenty of options designed especially to meet Nevada pharmacy technicians’ needs. freeCE’s on-demand continuing education activities come in a variety of formats including: 

  • Webcasts: These video activities are perfect for technicians who enjoy both auditory and visual activities. These activities have many of the benefits of live CE but are available 24-7.
  • Monographs: These written activities are a great way to earn credit at whatever pace fits your needs. If you learn best by reading, freeCE’s monograph library has many activities for you.
  • Express CE: These bite-sized activities are designed so you can earn 0.25 hours of CE in 15 minutes. Perfect for fitting into a busy schedule, these activities let you earn credit between your daily tasks. 

If you want a convenient way to earn your Nevada CE fast, explore freeCE’s packages here.

View More State Information

A  C  D  F  G  H  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  U  V  W

A

C

D

F

G

H

Close

TRY FREECE FOR
FREE FOR 30 DAYS!

Welcome to our ALL NEW Website

If you already have a freeCE account, click “Account Login” in the navigation bar.

UNLOCK
15% OFF YOUR
PURCHASE

Sign up to PharmCon’s newsletter
to get exclusive discounts on
courses, study tools, and more!