IMPORTANT: We are experiencing some technical issues and cannot accept credit card payments at this time. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Please check back later to complete your purchase.

🌸 SPRING SALE - 20% OFF MEMBERSHIP - USE CODE: SPRING20 🌸

Rhode Island Board of Pharmacy |
CE Requirements

Last Updated: December 28, 2023

License Deadline: 6/30/2024

15 Hours

  • 5 Live
  • 8 General
  • 1 Law
  • 1 Immunizations

  

License Deadline: 6/30/2024

10 Hours

  • 10 General
 

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

License Deadline: 6/30/2023

15 Hours

  • 5 Live
  • 8 General
  • 1 Law
  • 1 Immunizations

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

Rhode Island Board of Pharmacy

Rhode Island CE Requirements For Pharmacists

Rhode Island Board of Pharmacy licensees must renew their licenses annually on June 30 to maintain the right to practice. The annual license renewal fee is $280.

The Rhode Island Board of Pharmacy requires 15 continuing education (CE) hours to be completed every year prior to the renewal date of June 30. Of the total requirement, 5 must be completed in a live setting. 

Annual Continuing Education Requirements

Total Hours

15

General

8

Live 

5

Law 

1

Immunizations 

1

 

Additional CE Requirements

If the pharmacist has a collaborative practice agreement in place with another healthcare provider, an additional 5 hours of CE will be required.

Rhode Island Code Section Section 216

1.4.17: Continuing Education

  1. Pursuant to the provisions of R.I. Gen. Laws § 5-19.1-14, any pharmacist, licensed to practice pharmacy in Rhode Island, who seeks licensure renewal, shall be required to have satisfactorily completed at least fifteen (15) hours (one and a half (1.5) continuing education units) of continuing education courses sponsored by a recognized provider between January 1st and December 31st of each calendar year. One (1) hour or one tenth (0.1) continuing education units of the required fifteen (15) hours of continuing education between January 1st and December 31st of each calendar year shall be in the area of the law as classified by ACPE. Furthermore, five (5) hours or one half (0.5) continuing education units between January 1st and December 31st of each calendar year must be live hours. In addition:
  2. Immunizing pharmacists shall complete one (1) hour or one tenth (0.1) continuing education units of the required fifteen (15) hours of continuing education.
  3. Any pharmacist participating in a collaborative pharmacy practice agreement shall earn at least five (5) additional contact hours or one half (0.5) continuing education units of board-approved continuing education that addresses areas of practice generally related to collaborative practice agreements each year and shall maintain documentation of these hours at the practice site to be made available for inspection by the Boards of Medical Licensure and Discipline and Pharmacy.
  4. Any pharmacist who has not participated in a collaborative pharmacy practice arrangement for a period of two (2) years and seeks to enter into such an arrangement, must have obtained and/or maintained the certification set forth in this Part, as applicable, or have earned fifteen (15) hours of relevant continuing education within the prior year in the area of practice covered by the agreement.
  5. A pharmacist shall not be subject to the continuing education requirements of this Part in the year that he/she graduated, with the exception of the continuing education requirement contained in §1.11.1(B)(7) of this Part; and
  6. In emergency or hardship cases, a licensed pharmacist may apply to the Board on forms provided by the Department for an exemption from the continuing education requirements of this Part.
  7. The annual application for license renewal shall include affidavits signed by the applicant attesting to the fact that he/she has satisfactorily completed an approved course(s) of continuing education provided by a recognized provider, as defined in this Part. Furthermore:
  8. Certificates of continuing education courses must be retained and safeguarded by each pharmacist for review by the Department, if required and requested. Such certificate need not be submitted with the application for licensure renewal; however, documentation must be retained for two (2) years following the date of completion of the course.
  9. Any pharmacist whose license has not been renewed for one (1) or more years must demonstrate compliance with continuing education Regulations for the licensure period immediately prior to application.
  10. Pharmacists failing to comply with the requirements of §1.4.17(A)(6) of this Part.

1.4.18: Recognized Provider

A “recognized provider” is any person, group or organization approved by the Board as responsible and competent to provide continuing education courses and includes providers accredited by an appropriate national, regional or state accreditation agency. Any provider approved the Accreditation Council for Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE), the Board of Pharmacy in another State or jurisdiction, or the provider of American Medical Association (AMA) Category I programs shall be considered recognized providers.

1.4.19: Continuing Education Credit for Postgraduate Pharmacy Curriculum/Program

  1. A licensed pharmacist who is enrolled in a postgraduate Doctor of Pharmacy program shall be awarded CEUs for satisfactory completion of courses within said curriculum or program, provided that the sponsor of the postgraduate curriculum or program is an accredited College of Pharmacy. A licensed pharmacist enrolled in other postgraduate pharmacy programs may seek continuing education credit provided that the application satisfies all requirements under this section and provided further that the course provides instruction in one (1) or more of the following areas: pharmacy, pharmaceutical sciences, pharmacy practice or pharmacy law.
  2. Students seeking continuing education credit for postgraduate pharmacy education must maintain official course transcripts for two (2) years after completion of the course work.

 

We cannot guarantee this is the most up-to-date version of this code section. Please refer to the Rhode Island Code for the most accurate information.

The Rhode Island State Board of Pharmacy does allow for licensure by reciprocity for pharmacists if licensed in another state/territory. The applicant must: 

  • Complete the Application for Pharmacist Licensure by Reciprocity form and submit a $280 application fee 
  • Provide a copy of driver’s license or state issued ID and a copy of current out-of-state license
  • Request that the Board located in a different state/territory provide license verification via the Interstate Verification Form
  • Apply to take the Rhode Island MPJE with the NABP
    • The individual must pass 

Complete and submit the NABP Application for Licensure Transfer

The Rhode Island State Board of Pharmacy requires a minimum of 15 continuing education hours every year. The CE requirement must be fulfilled by the renewal date of June 30.

A pharmacist license may be obtained through examination or reciprocity. To obtain licensure via examination, the applicant must:

  • Complete an Application for Pharmacist Licensure By Examination form and submit a $280 application fee
    • Attach a 2 x 2 passport size photo taken within the last year
  • Request that the college/school of pharmacy send an official transcript directly to the Board
  • Complete 1500 internship hours and submit the Preceptor Affidavit of Internship Hours (included in the application)
    • If there are internship hours acquired in another state, request that the Board provide a Verification of Internship Hours to the Rhode Island Board
  • If previously licensed in another state, the individual must request that license verification be submitted via the Interstate Verification Form (included in the application)
  • Register for and pass the NAPLEX and Rhode Island MPJE via NABP

The Rhode Island State Board of Pharmacy mandates a minimum of 5 live hours as part of the triennial CE requirement. freeCE provides an interactive learning experience that encourages real-time interaction, discussions, and networking with peers and experts.

Moreover, freeCE’s flexibility caters to the busy schedules of pharmacists, offering multiple live programs daily. This allows pharmacists to effectively fulfill the state’s educational requirements, all conveniently from their homes. To streamline your access to our diverse range of self-paced learning and interactive online courses, we recommend signing up for the freeCE Gold Membership today. 

The Rhode Island Board of Pharmacy requires pharmacists to complete a total of 15 CE hours for license renewal every year. Thankfully, freeCE can offer a convenient solution. Our platform covers various CE topics mandated by the state, such as law and immunization training topics.

FreeCE simplifies the path to advancing your professional growth and education development, providing user-friendliness, accessibility, and affordable education. Choose freeCE to simplify the license renewal process, providing convenience, reliability, and accreditation from a trusted source. 

Rhode Island CE Requirements For Pharmacy Technicians

Rhode Island-registered pharmacy technicians must renew their licenses with the Board annually to maintain the right to practice. Registration renewal applications are due on June 30. These renewals can be completed through the Rhode Island Department of Health Online Services Page.

The Rhode Island Board of Pharmacy mandates the completion of 10 continuing education (CE) hours annually, to be fulfilled before the renewal date on June 30. A renewal fee of $25 applies.

Additionally, for technicians designated as TECH II instead of TECH I, the Rhode Island Board of Pharmacy requires the maintenance of national certification through either PTCB or EXCPT. Refer to the appropriate licensing body for more information on their specific requirements.

 

Annual Continuing Education Requirements

Total Hours

10

General 

10

 

PTCB Biennial Continuing Education Requirements 

Total Hours

20

General 

18

Pharmacy Law

1

Patient Safety

1

*A maximum of 5 CE hours are allowed to be pharmacist-specific.

To become a registered pharmacy technician, the applicant must:

  • Submit a written application for Licensure as a Pharmacy Technician (Tech I or Tech II) with the Rhode Island State Board of Pharmacy
  • Be at least 18 years old or older
    • Submit a copy of driver’s license
  • Hold a high school diploma/GED
  • Obtain an e-Profile ID Number from the NABP
  • Meet the pharmacy technician training requirements:
    • TECH 1: Complete the Pharmacist In Charge Affidavit Section of the application
    • TECH 2: Provide the certificate indicating completion of PTCB or EXCPT Certification Examination
  • If previously licensed in another state, the individual must request that license verification be submitted via the Interstate Verification Form (included in the application)

FreeCE can be a valuable tool for Rhode Island pharmacy technicians to fulfill their state and national CE requirements. The platform provides a wide range of accredited choices, such as interactive webinars and on-demand sessions, as well as written activities. This assortment ensures that learning can be personalized to accommodate different preferences and styles.

Using freeCE, you can benefit from the ease of online learning, enabling you to take courses at your convenience, wherever you are. This flexibility makes it simple to manage both work and education. To discover the membership that fits you best, please explore our website here.

View More State Information

A  C  D  F  G  H  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  U  V  W

A

C

D

F

G

H

Close

TRY FREECE FOR
FREE FOR 30 DAYS!

Welcome to our ALL NEW Website

If you already have a freeCE account, click “Account Login” in the navigation bar.

UNLOCK
15% OFF YOUR
PURCHASE

Sign up to PharmCon’s newsletter
to get exclusive discounts on
courses, study tools, and more!