IMPORTANT: We are experiencing some technical issues and cannot accept credit card payments at this time. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Please check back later to complete your purchase.

🌸 SPRING SALE - 20% OFF MEMBERSHIP - USE CODE: SPRING20 🌸

Michigan Board of Pharmacy |
CE Requirements

Last Updated: December 14, 2023

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

LICENSE DEADLINE: LICENSE ISSUE DAY EVERY 2 YEARS

30 Hours

  • 10 Live
  • 15 General
  • 1 Pain Management
  • 1 Law
  • 1 Controlled Substances*
  • 2 Implicit Bias*

LICENSE DEADLINE: LICENSE ISSUE DAY EVERY 2 YEARS

20 Hours

  • 5 Live
  • 10 General
  • 1 Pain Management
  • 1 Patient Safety
  • 1 Law
  • 2 Implicit Bias

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

Michigan Board of Pharmacy

Michigan CE Requirements For Pharmacists

Michigan Board Of Pharmacy License Renewal

Michigan Board of Pharmacy licensees must renew their licenses biennially to maintain the right to practice. Renewal applications are due every 2 years on the day the individual received their license. This process can be completed by logging into MIPLUS.

Michigan Board Of Pharmacy CE Requirements

The Michigan Board of Pharmacy requires 30 continuing education (CE) hours to be completed every 2 years prior to the renewal date. The renewal date is dependent upon when the pharmacist received their initial license.

 

Biennial Continuing Education Requirements 

Total Hours

30

Live 

10

Pain Symptoms/Management

1

Pharmacy Ethics/Law

1

Opioids and Controlled Substances*

1

Implicit Bias**

2

General Hours

15

* Continuing education requirements for opioids/controlled substances are one-time only.

** The implicit bias requirement is 2 hours of CE in the 5 years following licensure. The requirement is then lowered to 1 hour.

Note: Applicants may not earn more than 12 hours in a 24-hour period.

Michigan Board Of Pharmacy Laws | Michigan Law

Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs: Pharmacy Continuing Education

R 338.3041, R 338.3043, and R 338.3044 of the Michigan Administrative Code are amended, and R 338.3042 is added, as follows:

 

R 338.3041  License renewals; continuing education requirements; applicability.

Definitions.

  Rule 1.  (1) These rules apply to applications for renewal of a pharmacist’s license and a special retired volunteer pharmacist’s license under sections 16201 and 16184 of the code, MCL 333.16201 and 333.16184.  A licensee seeking renewal shall comply with all of the following: As used in these rules:

   (a) Submit a completed application on a form provided by the department, together with the requisite fee. “Board” means the Michigan board of pharmacy, created in section 17721 of the code, MCL 333.17721.

   (b) Beginning with renewals on January 1, 2020, an applicant for license renewal shall have completed a 1-time training identifying victims of human trafficking as required in R 338.511 and section 16148 of the code, MCL 333.16148. “Code” means the public health code, 1978 PA 368, MCL 333.1101 to 333.25211.

   (c) An applicant for license renewal, who also applies for a controlled substance license, shall have completed a 1-time training in opioids and other controlled substances awareness as required in R 338.3135.“Department” means the department of licensing and regulatory affairs.

   (d) An applicant for license renewal, who has been licensed for the 2-year period immediately preceding the end of the license cycle, shall furnish the board with satisfactory evidence that the applicant completed not less than 30 hours of continuing education approved by the board, under R 338.3043 and R 338.3044, during the 2 years immediately preceding the application for renewal which must comply with all of the following:      

   (i) An applicant for license renewal shall complete at least 1 hour of the 30 required hours of continuing education in pharmacy ethics and jurisprudence. This paragraph applies only to renewals after December 30, 2020.

      (ii) An applicant for license renewal shall complete a minimum of 10 hours of the 30 required hours of continuing education by attending live courses or programs that provide for direct interaction between faculty and participants, including but not limited to, lectures, symposia, live teleconferences, and workshops.

      (iii) An applicant for license renewal shall complete at least 1 hour of the 30 required hours of continuing education in pain and symptom management, as required under section 16204(2) of the code, MCL 333.16204(2). Continuing education in pain and symptom management includes, but is not limited to, courses in behavior management, psychology of pain, pharmacology, behavior modification, stress management, clinical applications, and drug interventions as they relate to professional practice. 

      (iv) An applicant for license renewal shall earn no more than 12 hours of continuing education during a 24-hour period. 

       (v) An applicant for license renewal shall not earn credit for taking the same continuing education course or program twice during 1 renewal period.  

  (2) Submission of an application for renewal constitutes the applicant’s certification of compliance with the requirements of this rule. An applicant shall retain documentation of meeting the requirements of this rule for a period of 4 years from the date of applying for license renewal. The board may require an applicant to submit evidence to demonstrate compliance with this rule. Failure to comply with this rule is a violation of section 16221(h) of the code, MCL 333.16221(h). Unless otherwise defined in these rules, the terms defined in the code have the same meaning when used in these rules.

  (3) A request for a waiver under section 16205 of the code, MCL 333.16205, must be received by the department before the expiration date of the license.

  (4) Except as otherwise stated, this rule takes effect upon promulgation of the rules.

 

R 338.3042  License renewals; continuing education requirements; applicability.

  Rule 2. (1) These rules apply to applications for renewal of a pharmacist’s license and a special retired volunteer pharmacist’s license under sections 16201 and 16184 of the code, MCL 333.16201 and 333.16184.  A licensee seeking renewal shall comply with all of the following:

(a) Submit a completed application on a form provided by the department, together with the requisite fee.

(b) Beginning with renewals on January 1, 2020, an applicant for license renewal shall have completed a 1-time training identifying victims of human trafficking as required in R 338.511 and section 16148 of the code, MCL 333.16148.

(c) An applicant for license renewal, who also applies for a controlled substance license, shall have completed a 1-time training in opioids and other controlled substances awareness as required in R 338.3135.

(d) The continuing education requirements apply to an applicant for license renewal, who has been licensed for the 2-year period immediately preceding the end of the license cycle.

  (e) An applicant for license renewal shall furnish the board with satisfactory evidence that the applicant completed not less than 30 hours of continuing education approved by the board, under R 338.3043 and R 338.3044, during the license cycle prior to the application for renewal. Continuing education that is earned during the 60-day grace period may be included up to the date the application for renewal is filed. The continuing education must comply with all of the following:      

   (i) An applicant for license renewal shall complete at least 1 hour of the 30 required hours of continuing education in pharmacy ethics and pharmacy law, which may be completed in 1 or more courses.

      (ii) An applicant for license renewal shall complete a minimum of 10 hours of the 30 required hours of continuing education by attending live, synchronous, courses or programs, in-person or virtual, that provide for the opportunity of direct interaction between faculty and participants, including but not limited to, lectures, symposia, live teleconferences, and workshops. Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE) courses designated as live meet this requirement.

   (iii) An applicant for license renewal shall complete at least 1 hour of the 30 required hours of continuing education in pain and symptom management, as required under section 16204(2) of the code, MCL 333.16204. Continuing education in pain and symptom management includes, but is not limited to, courses in behavior management, psychology of pain, pharmacology, behavior modification, stress management, clinical applications, and drug interventions as they relate to professional practice. 

      (iv) An applicant for license renewal shall earn no more than 12 hours of continuing education during a 24-hour period. 

       (v) Except for the 1-time training in human trafficking, the 1-time training in opioid and controlled substances awareness, and the implicit bias training, which may be used to comply with both the training requirement and the continuing education requirement in the same renewal period, an applicant for license renewal  may not earn continuing education credit for a program or activity that is identical to a program or activity an applicant has already earned credit for during that renewal period.  

  (2) Submission of an application for renewal constitutes the applicant’s certification of compliance with the requirements of this rule. An applicant shall retain documentation of meeting the requirements of this rule for a period of 4 years from the date of applying for license renewal. The board may require an applicant to submit evidence to demonstrate compliance with this rule. Failure to comply with this rule is a violation of section 16221(h) of the code, MCL 333.16221.

  (3) A request for a waiver under section 16205 of the code, MCL 333.16205, must be received by the department before the expiration date of the license.

  (4) Except as otherwise stated, this rule takes effect upon promulgation of the rules.

 

R 338.3043  Continuing education courses and programs; standards for approval.

  Rule 3. The board shall approve continuing education courses or programs pursuant to the following standards in this rule:

  (a) A continuing education course or program sponsor shall submit a completed application on forms provided by the department and provide a “Patient Protection” form for any course or program that involves treatment of live patients.

  (b) A completed application form shall be submitted to the department at least 70 days prior to the date the continuing education course or program is conducted and 70 days prior to the next regularly scheduled board meeting for the proposed continuing education to be considered for approval by the board. A continuing education course or program conducted prior to board consideration will not be approved.

  (c) A continuing education course or program must meet the standards and criteria for an acceptable category of continuing education under this rule and R 338.3044 and must be relevant to health care services, pharmacy operations, or and advancement of the licensee’s pharmacy education.   

  (d) A continuing education course or program must be a planned learning program designed to promote the continual development of knowledge, skills, and attitudes on the part of the pharmacist. The course or program must be an individual organized educational experience under responsible sponsorship and capable direction and must provide qualified instruction.

  (e)(d) A continuing education course or program shall be developed and presented by a sponsor and must provide all of the following:

    (i) Administrative support that ensures maintenance and availability Availability of adequate records of participation.

    (ii) An adequate budget and resources.

    (iii)(ii) Appropriate, qualified, competent Qualified teaching staff.

    (iv)(iii) A statement of educational goals or measurable behavioral objectives, or both.

    (v) Delivery methods that allow for active participation and involvement.

    (vi) Appropriate, adequate facilities.

    (vii) Evaluations of the participant and the provider.

  (f) The continuing education course or program must include study in 1 or more of the following subjects:

(i) Social, psychological, economic, and legal aspects of health care delivery.

    (ii) The properties and actions of drugs and dosage forms.

(iii) Etiology, characteristics, and therapeutics of the disease state.

(iv) Emergency skills related to the health and safety of the patient.

(v) Specialized professional services.

(vi) Other areas of study that the board finds are designed to maintain or enhance a pharmacist’s ability to deliver competent pharmacy services.

  (g)(e) Board approval is valid for a 3-year term of approval years from the date of approval.

  (f) Except as provided in subdivision (g) of this subrule, any subsequent dates that the course or program will be offered do not require further board approval and may be changed without review by the board if the presentation dates are within the board’s original 3-year term of approval.

  (h)(g) The board shall reevaluate an approved continuing education course or program prior to any changes during the approval term, including but not limited to, changes to either of the following: 

(i) Instructors and speakers.

    (ii) Course or program content, the title, and number of continuing education hours to be awarded to participants, or learning objectives.

  (i) Subject to subdivision (j) of this rule, all changes to a previously approved course or program must be submitted on required department forms at least 70 days prior to the date the course or program is offered to participants and 70 days prior to the next regularly scheduled board meeting to be considered for approval by the board. Any changes to a submitted and previously approved course or program conducted prior to board reconsideration and approval will not be approved.

  (j) Emergency changes to instructors and speakers that cannot be submitted to the board at least 70 days prior to the date of the course or program may be reviewed by the department in consultation with the board chair or a continuing education board committee member if proof that is acceptable to the department and that supports the nature of the emergency is submitted with the change.

  (k) The specific dates that the course or program will be offered do not require further board approval and may be changed without review by the board if the presentation dates are within the board’s original 3-year term of approval.

  (l)(h) A sponsor conducting the course or program shall record all of the following on a continuing education certificate or other proof prepared by that sponsor: 

(i) The name of the sponsor.

(ii) Continuing education approval number assigned by the department.

    (iii) Course title or name of the program.

(iv) Name of the speaker or instructor.

(v) Date the approved course or program was conducted.

(vi) Number and type of continuing education hours awarded.

(vii) Approved sponsor’s signature.

(viii) Dates of the current approval term.

(ix) Name of participant.

  (m)(i) The board may revoke the approval status of any approved course or program at any time if the course or program fails to comply with these rules.

We cannot guarantee this is the most up-to-date version of this code section. Please refer to the Michigan Code for the most accurate information.

Michigan Board Of Pharmacy Reciprocity

The Michigan Board of Pharmacy does not allow for licensure by reciprocity for pharmacists, however, they do allow a similar process called endorsement. The applicant must: 

  • Obtain a PharmD or BS from an accredited school/college of pharmacy
  • Provide proof of current licensure in another US state
  • Register and pass the Michigan MPJE
    • Request that the score and testing history be sent to the Board before pursuing endorsement
  • Apply for Licensure By Endorsement online via the MiPLUS portal and pay an application fee of $137.70.
  • Provide proof of at least 1,600 pharmacy intern practice hours 
  • Provide a current Criminal Background Check: Once the application has been submitted, the Board will send an email with further instructions

For more details on pharmacist licensing information, see the Michigan Pharmacist Licensing Guide.

How Many CE Hours Does A Pharmacist Need in Michigan?

The Michigan State Board of Pharmacy requires a minimum of 30 continuing education hours every 2 years. Of the total requirement, 10 hours must be completed in a live setting This requirement must be completed by the day the individual received their license to renew.

How Do I Get A Pharmacist License In Michigan?

A pharmacist license may be obtained through examination or endorsement. To obtain licensure via examination, the applicant must:

  • Obtain a PharmD or BS from an accredited school/college of pharmacy
  • Register and pass the NAPLEX and Michigan MPJE
    • Individuals are only eligible to apply after the testing requirement is completed
  • Apply for Licensure By Examination online via the MiPLUS portal and pay an application fee of $137.70.
  • Provide proof of at least 1,600 pharmacy intern practice hours 
  • Provide a current Criminal Background Check: Once the application has been submitted, the Board will send an email with further instructions
  • Complete 2-hours of implicit bias training and a one-time human trafficking training program prior to being licensed
    • In December 2020, a new rule took effect concerning the human trafficking requirement. These rules state “(3) Pursuant to section 16148 of the code, MCL 333.16148, the requirements specified in subrule (1) of this rule apply for license renewals beginning Jan. 1, 2020, and for initial licenses issued after Nov. 13, 2022.” MPA has confirmed with the Bureau of Professional Licensing within the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) that a pharmacist only needs to take a Human Trafficking CE once in order to qualify for this requirement.”

 

For more details on pharmacist licensing information, see the Michigan Pharmacist Licensing Guide.

Live Online CE For Pharmacists

The Michigan State Board of Pharmacy requires at least 10 hours of the total CE requirement to be administered in a live setting. freeCE offers an immersive and dynamic learning experience, fostering real-time interaction, discussions, and networking with peers and experts.

Additionally, the flexibility of freeCE accommodates the demanding schedules, with multiple live programs available daily. This enables pharmacists to efficiently meet their state’s educational requirements, all from the comfort of their homes. To streamline your access to our live online courses, we recommend signing up for the freeCE Gold Membership today. 

Get Your Pharmacy CE Credits Through free CE for Michigan

With freeCE, pharmacists in Michigan can easily pursue their education requirements. Our platform offers various CE topics, including those mandated by the state such as pain management, pharmacy ethics/law, controlled substances, and implicit bias. 

freeCE offers on-demand training, accessible from anywhere, anytime. This allows our colleagues the flexibility to earn CE hours at their convenience. Choose freeCE to simplify the license renewal process, providing convenience, reliability, and accreditation from a trusted source. 

Michigan CE Requirements For Pharmacy Technicians

Michigan Pharmacy Technician License Renewal

Michigan Board of Pharmacy licensees must renew their licenses biennially to maintain the right to practice. Renewal applications are due every 2 years on the day the individual received their license. This process can be completed by logging into MIPLUS.

How Many CE Hours Does A Pharmacy Tech Need in Michigan?

The Michigan Board of Pharmacy requires registered technicians to complete 20 continuing education hours every 2 years for the renewal of licensure before the renewal date. The renewal date is dependent upon when the pharmacist received their initial license. Of the total requirement, 5 must be completed in a live setting. 

 

Biennial Continuing Education Requirements 

Total Hours

20

Live 

5

Pain Symptoms/Management

1

Pharmacy Ethics and Pharmacy Law

1

Patient Safety

1

Implicit Bias**

2

General Hours

10

** The implicit bias requirement is 2 hours of CE in the 5 years following licensure. The requirement is then lowered to 1 hour.

Note: Applicants may not earn more than 12 hours in a 24-hour period. 

How Do I Get A Pharmacy Technician License In Michigan?

To become a registered pharmacy technician, the applicant must:

  • Apply for licensure online via the MiPLUS portal and pay an application fee of $137.70.
  • Provide a current Criminal Background Check: Once the application has been submitted, the Board will send an email with further instructions
  • Complete 2-hours of implicit bias training and a one-time human trafficking training program prior to being licensed

For more details on pharmacist licensing information, see the Michigan Pharmacy Technician Licensing Guide.

free CE for Pharmacy Technicians - Get Your Pharmacy Tech CE Credits for the Michigan Board of Pharmacy

freeCE offers valuable learning opportunities for Michigan pharmacy technicians seeking registration renewal. This platform can assist licensees in completing mandatory CE in topics such as pain management, pharmacy ethics/law, patient safety, and implicit bias. freeCE streamlines the renewal process by offering diverse learning formats and online flexibility, enabling technicians to easily balance their work and educational commitments. Explore membership options on the freeCE website today to enhance your professional development and ensure compliance with Michigan’s state renewal requirements.

View More State Information

A  C  D  F  G  H  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  U  V  W

A

C

D

F

G

H

Close

TRY FREECE FOR
FREE FOR 30 DAYS!

Welcome to our ALL NEW Website

If you already have a freeCE account, click “Account Login” in the navigation bar.

UNLOCK
15% OFF YOUR
PURCHASE

Sign up to PharmCon’s newsletter
to get exclusive discounts on
courses, study tools, and more!