IMPORTANT: We are experiencing some technical issues and cannot accept credit card payments at this time. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Please check back later to complete your purchase.

🌸 SPRING SALE - 20% OFF MEMBERSHIP - USE CODE: SPRING20 🌸

New Mexico Board of Pharmacy |
CE Requirements

Last Updated: December 27, 2023

License Deadline: Last day of birth month every 2 years

30 Hours

  • 10 Live
  • 14 General
  • 2 Law
  • 2 Patient Safety
  • 2 Safe Use of Opiods

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

License Deadline: 9/30/2023

30 Hours

  • 10 Live
  • 14 General
  • 2 Law
  • 2 Patient Safety
  • 2 Safe Use of Opiods

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

New Mexico Board of Pharmacy

New Mexico CE Requirements For Pharmacists

New Mexico Board of Pharmacy licensees must renew their licenses biennially to maintain the right to practice. Renewal applications are due on the last day of the individual’s birth month every 2 year cycle. Whether the year of expiration falls on an even or odd year depends on when the license was issued. The annual license renewal fee for an active pharmacist is $200.

The New Mexico Board of Pharmacy requires 30 continuing education (CE) hours to be completed every 2 years prior to the individual’s renewal date. Of the total requirement, 10 CE hours must be completed in a live setting.

Biennial Continuing Education Requirements

Total Hours 

30

General 

14

Live 

10

Law

2

Patient Safety

2

Safe Use of Opioids

2

 

Additional CE Requirements

  • Pharmacist Clinicians (PhC) are required to complete an additional 20 live CE hours in addition to the RPh CE requirements
    • If the PhC has controlled substance II or III registration, 2 CE on responsible opioid prescribing are required
  • Pharmacists with authorization to administer vaccines must undergo an additional 2 hours of training related to vaccines every two years. Home study is not permitted for this course.
  • Pharmacists with prescriptive authority for emergency contraceptives are obligated to complete an extra 2 hours of training related to emergency contraceptive drug therapy every two years.
  • Pharmacists with prescriptive authority for tobacco cessation products must fulfill an additional 2 hours of training related to tobacco cessation drug therapy every two years.
  • Pharmacists with prescriptive authority for naloxone must complete an additional 2 hours of training related to naloxone drug therapy every two years. Home study is not allowed for this course.
  • Pharmacists with prescriptive authority for hormonal contraception drug therapy are required to undergo an additional 2 hours of training related to hormonal contraception drug therapy every two years. Home study is not permitted for this course.
Section 16.19.4.10: CONTINUING PHARMACY EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS
  1. Continuing pharmacy education (CPE) shall include study in one or more of the general areas of socioeconomic and legal aspects of healthcare; the properties and actions of drugs and dosage forms; etiology; characteristics and therapeutics of the disease state, or such other subjects as the board may from time to time approve. Continuing pharmacy education approved in New Mexico shall be limited to programs and activities offered by the accreditation council for pharmacy education (ACPE), approved provider, programs or courses approved by other state boards of pharmacy and pharmacy law programs offered by the New Mexico board of pharmacy.
  2. Continuing pharmacy education, certified as completed by an approved provider will be required of a registered pharmacist who applies for renewal of New Mexico registration as follows: 3.0 CEU (30 contact hours) every two years. Effective January 1, 2013, pharmacist and pharmacist clinician renewal applications shall document.
(1) A minimum of 1.0 CEU (10 contact hours) excluding the law requirement, per renewal period shall be obtained through “live programs” that are approved as such by the ACPE or the accreditation council for continuing medical education (ACCME). Live programs provided by other providers (such as continuing nursing education) may be acceptable based on review and approval of the board. (2) A minimum of 0.2 CEU (2 contact hours) per renewal period shall be in the area of patient safety as applicable to the practice of pharmacy. (3) A minimum of 0.2 CEU (2 contact hours) per renewal period shall be in the subject area of pharmacy law offered by the New Mexico board of pharmacy. (4) Effective January 1, 2015, a minimum of 0.2 CEU (2 contact hours) per renewal period shall be in the area of safe and appropriate use of opioids. An educational program consisting of a minimum of 0.2 CEU (2 contact hours) that addresses both patient safety as applicable to the practice of pharmacy and the safe and appropriate use of opioids will satisfy requirements of Paragraphs (2) and (4)of Subsection B of this section.
  1. The number of CEU’s to be awarded for successful completion shall be determined by the approved provider in advance of the offering of the activity.
  2. The board of pharmacy will accept CPE education units for programs or activities completed outside the state; provided, the provider has been approved by the ACPE under its’ criteria for quality at the time the program was offered.
  3. Continuing pharmacy education will be required of all registrants holding an in-state status and out-of-state active status license. (61-11-13 D). Pharmacists granted New Mexico initial licensure are exempt from CPE requirements. Inactive status licensees will be required to furnish CPE for the current licensing period, 1.5 CEU for each year the licensee was inactive, only for the purpose of reinstating to active status.
  4. Not less than 10% of the registrants will be randomly selected each year by the board of pharmacy for audit of certificates by the state drug inspectors. Pharmacists and pharmacist clinicians without sufficient documentation of completion of CPE requirements shall.
(1) Be subject to a fine of not less that $1000.00. (2) Be required to complete the deficient CPE in a satisfactory time period as determined by the board.
  1. In the event a pharmacist makes an application for renewal and does not furnish necessary proof of compliance upon request, the board will afford the applicant opportunity for hearing pursuant to the Uniform Licensing Act.
  2. [RESERVED]
  3. [RESERVED]
  4. Pharmacy law requirement for.
(1) Active status: A minimum of 0.2 CEU (2 contact hours) of the 3.0 CEU (30 contact hours) required for registration renewal, shall be in the subject area pharmacy law as offered by the N.M. board of pharmacy. In lieu of a board program, pharmacists not residing and not practicing pharmacy in New Mexico, may complete an ACPE accredited course, in the subject area pharmacy law, meeting the CEU requirements of this paragraph. (2) Effective date. Registration renewals due June 1996 and thereafter. (3) Licensees may obtain 0.1 CEU (1 contact hour) per year, in the subject area pharmacy law, by attending one full day of a regularly scheduled New Mexico board of pharmacy board meeting or serving on a board approved committee. (4) Licensees who successfully complete an open book test, administered by the board, shall receive credit for 0.2 CEU (2 contact hours) in the subject area pharmacy law.
  1. Board of pharmacy law programs.
(1) Pharmacy law programs shall be offered in each of the five pharmacy districts, as defined in NMSA 61-11-4.E, a minimum of once every calendar year (January through December). (2) Pharmacy law programs shall offer 0.2 CEU and be two contact hours in length.   We cannot guarantee this is the most up-to-date version of this code section. Please refer to the New Mexico Code for the most accurate information.

The New Mexico State Board of Pharmacy does allow for licensure by reciprocity for pharmacists if licensed in another state/territory. The applicant must: 

  • Complete Preliminary Application for License Transfer and mail to the NABP with an application fee of $300
    • Mailing address: 1600 Feehanville Drive, Mount Prospect, IL 60056
    • NABP will return the Official Application to the individual via mail
  • Sign and notarize the Official Application upon receipt and proceed to forward the document to the Board with a passport photo and moral character voucher
  • Register to take the New Mexico MPJE with the NABP
    • The Board will confirm eligibility and the applicant will receive an Authorization to Test 

Upon passing the NM MPJE, the Board will mail the individual an Application for Initial Licensure and Affidavit. Complete the application and return to the Board with an application fee of $200.

The New Mexico State Board of Pharmacy requires a minimum of 30 continuing education hours every 2 years. The CE requirement must be fulfilled by the licensee’s individual renewal date. The renewal year is established based on the license’s issue date, with the renewal deadline falling on the last day of the individual’s birth month.

A pharmacist license may be obtained through examination or reciprocity. To obtain licensure via examination, the applicant must:
  • Be a graduate from an accredited school/college of pharmacy
  • Complete the online Application for Pharmacist Licensure form and submit a $200 application fee through the licensing portal 
  • Provide a recent 3 x 4 photo taken within 30 days
  • If applicable, provide any records related to charges, convictions or fines imposed with an explanation 
  • Register and pass the NAPLEX and New Mexico MPJE via the NABP website

The New Mexico State Board of Pharmacy requires at least 10 hours of the total CE requirement to be administered in a live setting. freeCE offers an immersive and dynamic learning experience, fostering real-time interaction, discussions, and networking with peers and experts.

Additionally, the flexibility of freeCE accommodates the demanding schedules, with multiple live programs available daily. This enables pharmacists to efficiently meet their state’s educational requirements, all from the comfort of their homes. To streamline your access to our live online courses, we recommend signing up for the freeCE Gold Membership today. 

With freeCE, pharmacists in New Mexico can easily pursue their education requirements. Our platform offers various CE topics, including those mandated by the state such as pharmacy law, patient safety and safe use of opioids. 

freeCE offers on-demand training, accessible from anywhere, anytime. This allows our colleagues the flexibility to earn CE hours at their convenience. Choose freeCE to simplify the license renewal process, providing convenience, reliability, and accreditation from a trusted source. 

New Mexico CE Requirements For Pharmacy Technicians

New Mexico Board of Pharmacy licensees must renew their licenses biennially to maintain the right to practice. Renewal applications are due on the last day of the individual’s birth month every 2 year cycle. Whether the year of expiration falls on an even or odd year is dependent on when the license was issued. The annual license renewal fee for an active pharmacy technician is $30.

While the New Mexico Board of Pharmacy does not require continuing education to maintain registration as a pharmacy technician, individuals will be required to maintain national certification through a program such as the PTCB or ExCPT.

To become a non-certified pharmacy technician, the applicant must:

  • Complete the online Registration for Pharmacy Technicians Application and submit a application fee of $25
  • Provide the name of the pharmacist or training sponsor that will be responsible for the registered technician’s training 
  • Complete national certification with either PTCB or ExCPT within 1 year of registration
  • If applicable, provide any records related to charges, convictions or fines imposed with an explanation 

 

To become a certified pharmacy technician, the applicant must:

  • Complete the online Registration for Pharmacy Technicians Application and submit a application fee of $25
  • Provide a written record of completed pharmacy technician training signed by the applicant and supervising pharmacist or training sponsor
  • Provide the national certificate provided by PTCB or ExCPT
  • If applicable, provide any records related to charges, convictions or fines imposed with an explanation 

freeCE serves as an educational resource for nationally certified professionals aiming to meet their continuing education (CE) requirements. The platform presents an extensive range of accredited options, such as interactive online seminars, self-paced sessions, and written exercises, tailored to accommodate various learning preferences. We aim to promote an individualized educational experience while you meet all your state and national requirements for continued licensure.

 

Opting for freeCE provides you with the advantage of accessing online learning, allowing you to engage in courses from your preferred location at your convenience. This will allow you to effectively balance your professional commitments with your educational requirements and goals. To explore membership choices that suit your needs, please visit our website.

View More State Information

A  C  D  F  G  H  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  U  V  W

A

C

D

F

G

H

Close

TRY FREECE FOR
FREE FOR 30 DAYS!

Welcome to our ALL NEW Website

If you already have a freeCE account, click “Account Login” in the navigation bar.

UNLOCK
15% OFF YOUR
PURCHASE

Sign up to PharmCon’s newsletter
to get exclusive discounts on
courses, study tools, and more!