IMPORTANT: We are experiencing some technical issues and cannot accept credit card payments at this time. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Please check back later to complete your purchase.

🌸 SPRING SALE - 20% OFF MEMBERSHIP - USE CODE: SPRING20 🌸

Montana Board of Pharmacy |
CE Requirements

Last Updated: December 21, 2023

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

License Deadline: 6/30/2024

20 Hours

  • 20 General
 
Or

15 Hours

  • 10 General
  • 5 Live

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

Montana Board of Pharmacy

Montana Board of Pharmacy | CE Requirements

Verify a pharmacist license via the Montana Board of Pharmacy website here
Pharmacists licenses are renewed every year in the state of Montana with a renewal fee of $65. The renewal period begins May 2 through June 30 each year. You may renew late online for 45 days until August 14 with a late fee of $65. Renewals should be completed through the Board’s online licensing portal which can be accessed here.

Annual Continuing Education Requirements

  • For each renewal period, pharmacists are required to obtain either:
    1. 15 CE hours with 5 hours obtained in an approved live program OR 
    2. 20 CE hours if a pharmacist does not take at least 5 hours in an approved live program 
  • Only an additional 1.5 CEU’s (10 hours equal one CEU) may be accumulated and applied to the following years renewal period
  • A max of 10 hours may be obtained through completion of non-ACPE programs 

 

Additional CE Requirements

Only an additional 1.5 CEU may be accumulated and applied to the following year.

License Renewal Exemptions

The annual CEU requirement will not pertain to a pharmacist applying as a new graduate for his or her first license renewal.

We cannot guarantee this is the most up-to-date version of this code section. Please refer to the Montana Code for the most accurate information. The most up-to-date laws in the state of Montana referring to continuing education may be found here.  Relevant sections are outlined below: 

 

24.174.2104 REGISTERED PHARMACIST CONTINUING EDUCATION – REQUIREMENTS

(2) The board will require:

(a) 1.5 CEU for each fiscal year if a pharmacist takes at least 0.5 CEU in an approved group program; or

(b) 2.0 CEU for each fiscal year if a pharmacist does not take at least 0.5 CEU in an approved group program.

(3) The annual CEU requirement will not pertain to a pharmacist applying as a new graduate for his or her first license renewal.

(4) Only an additional 1.5 CEU may be accumulated and applied to the following year.

Continuing pharmaceutical education will include, but will not be limited to, appropriate professional post graduate education in any of the following subjects:

(a) properties and actions of drugs and dosage forms;

(b) etiology, pathophysiology, clinical course, therapy and prognosis of diseases;

(c) pharmacy practice; and

(d) legal, psychological and socioeconomic aspects of health care delivery.

(1) Continuing education programs sponsored by providers that are approved by the following organizations will automatically qualify for continuing education credit:

(a) the American Council on Pharmaceutical Education (ACPE);

(b) programs that have been approved for Continuing Medical Education (CME) by a state Board of Medical Examiners or its equivalent; or

(c) programs that have been approved for CME by an accredited CME provider.

(2) Pharmacists may receive CEU for programs other than those on the ACPE list of providers. Acceptable non-ACPE programs must focus on protecting the health, safety, and welfare of the public and contribute to the pharmacist’s professional knowledge and competence, and must:

(a)  directly relate to the scope of practice of pharmacy as defined in board statutes and rules;

(b)  review existing concepts and techniques;

(c)  convey information beyond the basic professional education;

(d)  update knowledge on the practice and advances in pharmacy; and/or

(e)  reinforce professional conduct or ethical obligations of the pharmacist.

(3)  A maximum of 1.0 CEU (10 hours) of the hours required in ARM 24.174.2104 may be obtained through completion of non-ACPE programs.  The programs must comply with (2), and:

(a)  be a minimum of 30 minutes in duration;

(b)  be provided by an individual(s) competent in the subject matter;

(c)  provide a statement and evaluation mechanism of educational objectives; and

(d)  provide program materials and/or an agenda, and a certificate of completion that includes the program date, hours of CEU, name of non-ACPE program provider, and name of program presenter.

Pharmacists that are licensed in another state must complete the NABP e-LTP license transfer application if applying for license transfer to the state of Montana. The fee to apply is $180. To register for the Montana MPJE, go to the NABP website.

In the state of Montana, pharmacists must complete 15 hours of board approved CE for each renewal period.

  • Complete the Montana Application for Licensure 
  • Graduate from an ACPE accredited school of pharmacy & submit Certificate of Pharmacy Education 
  • Proof of completion of 1500 documented intern hours
  • Take and pass both the NAPLEX and Montana state MPJE
  • Apply online with the Board’s online portal found at this link 
  • Pay required fees of $70 for the Montana Application for Licensure 
    • $25 MPJE
    • $35 NAPLEX

CE that a pharmacist in Montana obtains can be many different formats such as lecture, classes, or correspondence courses that the licensee obtains live or by pre-recording.

freeCE has a wide variety of Montana-approved CE activities. freeCE adds new content to the catalog regularly to allow you to meet your requirements yearly, but also choose activities that will interest you the most. freeCE activities are available both live and on-demands to cater to your needs. Visit freeCE to explore free and premium content to help complete the 15 hours of correspondence courses you need to maintain licensure in the state of Montana.

Montana CE Requirements For Pharmacy Technicians

  • Pharmacy technician licenses expire annually on June 30th
  • Technicians can renew online between May 2 and June 30. There is a $30 renewal fee. 
  • Late renewal online is available for 45 days until August 14, with a late fee of $30.
  • Renew online through the portal using this link 

Currently, pharmacy technicians are no longer required to obtain CE hours in the state of Montana. 

In order to become a pharmacy technician in Montana a minimum of a high school diploma or an equivalency certificate is required. You must apply with the Board and pay the application fee of $35. If you are certified by PTCB or ExCPT/NHA the license will be issued as a full Certified Pharmacy Technician license. If you are not certified yet, the license will be issued as a provisional Certified Pharmacy Technician license. You have one year to submit proof of certification. Do not submit a new application as the same license record will be used to issue a full certified license. An individual seeking a provisional certified pharmacy technician license must be employed by a Montana pharmacy. Apply online using this link.  

View More State Information

A  C  D  F  G  H  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  U  V  W

A

C

D

F

G

H

Close

TRY FREECE FOR
FREE FOR 30 DAYS!

Welcome to our ALL NEW Website

If you already have a freeCE account, click “Account Login” in the navigation bar.

UNLOCK
15% OFF YOUR
PURCHASE

Sign up to PharmCon’s newsletter
to get exclusive discounts on
courses, study tools, and more!