IMPORTANT: We are experiencing some technical issues and cannot accept credit card payments at this time. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience. Please check back later to complete your purchase.

🌸 SPRING SALE - 20% OFF MEMBERSHIP - USE CODE: SPRING20 🌸

Texas Board of Pharmacy |
CE Requirements

Last Updated: November 23, 2023

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

License Deadline: license issue day odd/even based on Year License Issued year

30 Hours

  • 24 General
  • 1 Texas-Specific Law
  • 2 Pain Management
  • 2 Controlled Substances
  • 1 Mental Health Awareness

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

45 Hours

  • 23 Hours Live
  • 19 Hours General
  • 3 Hours Medication Errors
  • No carry-over credit is allowed

Texas Board of Pharmacy

Texas CE Requirements For Pharmacists

Verify a pharmacist license via the Texas State Board of Pharmacy website here.

After obtaining a Texas pharmacist license, the initial authorization provided by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy (TSBP) lasts for 30 days, enabling practice within the state. Within this period, pharmacists are required to complete an initial license application and pay a prorated initial license fee, determined by the length of the initial license period, ranging from 18 to 30 months, with the expiration date aligning with the pharmacist’s birth month. It is crucial to submit the renewal application and fee within 30 days from the notice letter to avoid the license status becoming delinquent or expired. Delinquency incurs additional fees, and an expired license requires reapplication.

Regarding the expiration date not being set for two years initially, within the first 30 days of licensure, pharmacists must perform a license renewal to adjust the expiration date to align with their birth month. This initial renewal fee is prorated based on the period until the next expiration date, contingent on the licensure date and the pharmacist’s birth month. Subsequent renewals follow a two-year cycle, obligating compliance with CE requirements outlined in Rule 295.8 during the license period and reporting them during the renewal application process by the end of March every two years.

See here for more details.

During the initial 30-day period and the subsequent initial license period, newly licensed Texas pharmacists are exempt from most CE requirements under Board rule 295.8. However, they must adhere to specific legislatively mandated CE obligations. These requirements differ from regular CE mandates and can be found detailed on the Continuing Education — Pharmacists page, specifying the CE necessary for newly licensed pharmacists. The initial license period duration ranges from 18 to 30 months, depending on the licensee’s birth month, extending from the issuance of the pharmacist’s license until the subsequent expiration date after the initial 30-day period.

 

Biennial Continuing Education Requirements

Required Subject AreaRequired Number of Hours
Human Trafficking1
Mental Health Awareness1
Texas-Specific Law (Exempt upon initial renewal)1
Controlled Substances (Initial renewal only)2
General CEEnough to reach the required total of 30 hours

We cannot guarantee this is the most up-to-date version of this rule. Please refer to the Texas Administrative Code for the most accurate information.

TITLE 22: EXAMINING BOARDS

PART 15: TEXAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY

CHAPTER 295: PHARMACISTS

RULE §295.8: Continuing Education Requirements

 

(a) Authority and purpose.

  (1) Authority. In accordance with §559.053 of the Texas Pharmacy Act, (Chapters 551 – 569, Occupations Code), all pharmacists must complete and report 30 contact hours (3.0 CEUs) of approved continuing education obtained during the previous license period in order to renew their license to practice pharmacy.

  (2) Purpose. The board recognizes that the fundamental purpose of continuing education is to maintain and enhance the professional competency of pharmacists licensed to practice in Texas, for the protection of the health and welfare of the citizens of Texas.

(b) Definitions. The following words and terms, when used in this section, shall have the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise.

  (1) ACPE–Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education.

  (2) Act–The Texas Pharmacy Act, Chapters 551 – 569, Occupations Code.

  (3) Approved programs–Live programs, home study, and other mediated instruction delivered by an approved provider or a program specified by the board and listed as an approved program in subsection (e) of this section.

  (4) Approved provider–An individual, institution, organization, association, corporation, or agency that is approved by the board.

  (5) Board–The Texas State Board of Pharmacy.

  (6) Certificate of completion–A certificate or other official document presented to a participant upon the successful completion of an approved continuing education program.

  (7) Contact hour–A unit of measure of educational credit which is equivalent to approximately 60 minutes of participation in an organized learning experience.

  (8) Continuing education unit (CEU)–A unit of measure of education credit which is equivalent to 10 contact hours (i.e., one CEU = 10 contact hours).

  (9) CPE Monitor–A collaborative service from the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy and ACPE that provides an electronic system for pharmacists to track their completed CPE credits.

  (10) Credit hour–A unit of measurement for continuing education equal to 15 contact hours.

  (11) Enduring Materials (Home Study)–Activities that are printed, recorded, or computer assisted instructional materials that do not provide for direct interaction between faculty and participants.

  (12) Initial license period–The time period between the date of issuance of a pharmacist’s license and the next expiration date following the initial 30 day expiration date. This time period ranges from eighteen to thirty months depending upon the birth month of the licensee.

  (13) License period–The time period between consecutive expiration dates of a license.

  (14) Live programs–Activities that provide for direct interaction between faculty and participants and may include lectures, symposia, live teleconferences, workshops, etc.

  (15) Standardized pharmacy examination–The North American Pharmacy Licensing Examination (NAPLEX).

(c) Methods for obtaining continuing education. A pharmacist may satisfy the continuing education requirements by either:

  (1) successfully completing the number of continuing education hours necessary to renew a license as specified in subsection (a)(1) of this section;

  (2) successfully completing during the preceding license period, one credit hour for each year of their license period, which is a part of the professional degree program in a college of pharmacy the professional degree program of which has been accredited by ACPE; or

  (3) taking and passing the standardized pharmacy examination (NAPLEX) during the preceding license period as a Texas licensed pharmacist, which shall be equivalent to the number of continuing education hours necessary to renew a license as specified in subsection (a)(1) of this section.

(d) Reporting Requirements.

  (1) Renewal of a pharmacist license. To renew a license to practice pharmacy, a pharmacist must report on the renewal application completion of at least thirty contact hours (3.0 CEUs) of continuing education. The following is applicable to the reporting of continuing education contact hours:

    (A) at least one contact hour (0.1 CEU) specified in paragraph (1) of this subsection shall be related to Texas pharmacy laws or rules;

    (B) for renewals received after August 31, 2021 and before September 1, 2023, at least one contact hour (0.1 CEU) annually, for a total of two contact hours (0.2 CEU) specified in paragraph (1) of this subsection, shall be related to best practices, alternative treatment options, and multi-modal approaches to pain management as specified in §481.0764 of the Texas Health and Safety Code;

    (C) not later than the first anniversary of becoming licensed to practice pharmacy, a pharmacist must have completed at least two contact hours (0.2 CEU) specified in paragraph (1) of this subsection related to approved procedures of prescribing and monitoring controlled substances as specified in §481.07635 of the Texas Health and Safety Code;

    (D) for renewals received after August 31, 2021 and before September 1, 2023, at least one contact hour (0.1 CEU) specified in paragraph (1) of this subsection shall be related to mental health awareness;

    (E) any continuing education requirements which are imposed upon a pharmacist as a part of a board order or agreed board order shall be in addition to the requirements of this section; and

    (F) a pharmacist must have completed the human trafficking prevention course required in §116.002 of the Texas Occupations Code.

  (2) Failure to report completion of required continuing education. The following is applicable if a pharmacist fails to report completion of the required continuing education:

    (A) the license of a pharmacist who fails to report completion of the required number of continuing education contact hours shall not be renewed and the pharmacist shall not be issued a renewal certificate for the license period until such time as the pharmacist successfully completes the required continuing education and reports the completion to the board; and

    (B) a pharmacist who practices pharmacy without a current renewal certificate is subject to all penalties of practicing pharmacy without a license, including the delinquent fees specified in the Act, §559.003.

  (3) Extension of time for reporting. A pharmacist who has had a physical disability, illness, or other extenuating circumstances which prohibits the pharmacist from obtaining continuing education credit during the preceding license period may be granted an extension of time to complete the continuing education requirement. The following is applicable for this extension:

    (A) the pharmacist shall submit a petition to the board with his/her license renewal application which contains:

      (i) the name, address, and license number of the pharmacist;

      (ii) a statement of the reason for the request for extension;

      (iii) if the reason for the request for extension is health related, a statement from the attending physician(s) treating the pharmacist which includes the nature of the physical disability or illness and the dates the pharmacist was incapacitated; and

      (iv) if the reason for the request for the extension is for other extenuating circumstances, a detailed explanation of the extenuating circumstances, and if because of military deployment, documentation of the dates of the deployment;

    (B) after review and approval of the petition, a pharmacist may be granted an extension of time to comply with the continuing education requirement which shall not exceed one license renewal period;

    (C) an extension of time to complete continuing education credit does not relieve a pharmacist from the continuing education requirement during the current license period; and

    (D) if a petition for extension to the reporting period for continuing education is denied, the pharmacist shall:

      (i) have 60 days to complete and report completion of the required continuing education requirements; and

      (ii) be subject to the requirements of paragraph (2) of this subsection relating to failure to report completion of the required continuing education if the required continuing education is not completed and reported within the required 60-day time period.

  (4) Exemptions from reporting requirements.

    (A) All pharmacists licensed in Texas shall be exempt from the continuing education requirements in paragraph (1) of this subsection during their initial license period, with the exception of the requirements in paragraph (1)(B), (C), and (F) of this subsection which must be completed during the time periods specified in the subparagraphs.

    (B) Pharmacists who are not actively practicing pharmacy shall be granted an exemption to the reporting requirements for continuing education, provided the pharmacists submit a completed renewal application for each license period which states that they are not practicing pharmacy. Upon submission of the completed renewal application, the pharmacist shall be issued a renewal certificate which states that pharmacist is inactive. Pharmacists who wish to return to the practice of pharmacy after being exempted from the continuing education requirements as specified in this subparagraph must:

      (i) notify the board of their intent to actively practice pharmacy;

      (ii) pay the fee as specified in §295.9 of this title (relating to Inactive License); and

      (iii) provide copies of completion certificates from approved continuing education programs as specified in subsection (e) of this section for 30 contact hours (3.0 CEUs). Approved continuing education earned within two years prior to the licensee applying for the return to active status may be applied toward the continuing education requirement for reactivation of the license but may not be counted toward subsequent renewal of the license.

(e) Approved Programs.

  (1) Any program presented by an ACPE approved provider subject to the following conditions:

    (A) pharmacists may receive credit for the completion of the same ACPE course only once during a license period;

    (B) pharmacists who present approved ACPE continuing education programs may receive credit for the time expended during the actual presentation of the program. Pharmacists may receive credit for the same presentation only once during a license period; and

    (C) proof of completion of an ACPE course shall contain the following information:

      (i) name of the participant;

      (ii) title and completion date of the program;

      (iii) name of the approved provider sponsoring or cosponsoring the program;

      (iv) number of contact hours and/or CEUs awarded;

      (v) the assigned ACPE universal program number and a “P” designation indicating that the CE is targeted to pharmacists; and

      (vi) either:

        (I) a dated certifying signature of the approved provider and the official ACPE logo; or

        (II) the CPE Monitor logo.

  (2) Courses which are part of a professional degree program or an advanced pharmacy degree program offered by a college of pharmacy which has a professional degree program accredited by ACPE.

    (A) Pharmacists may receive credit for the completion of the same course only once during a license period. A course is equivalent to one credit hour for each year of the renewal period.

    (B) Pharmacists who teach these courses may receive credit towards their continuing education, but such credit may be received only once for teaching the same course during a license period.

  (3) Basic cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) courses which lead to CPR certification by the American Red Cross or the American Heart Association or its equivalent shall be recognized as approved programs. Pharmacists may receive credit for one contact hour (0.1 CEU) towards their continuing education requirement for completion of a CPR course only once during a license period. Proof of completion of a CPR course shall be the certificate issued by the American Red Cross or the American Heart Association or its equivalent.

  (4) Advanced cardiovascular life support courses (ACLS) or pediatric advanced life support (PALS) courses which lead to initial ACLS or PALS certification by the American Heart Association or its equivalent shall be recognized as approved programs. Pharmacists may receive credit for twelve contact hours (1.2 CEUs) towards their continuing education requirement for completion of an ACLS or PALS course only once during a license period. Proof of completion of an ACLS or PALS course shall be the certificate issued by the American Heart Association or its equivalent.

  (5) Advanced cardiovascular life support courses (ACLS) or pediatric advanced life support (PALS) courses which lead to ACLS or PALS recertification by the American Heart Association or its equivalent shall be recognized as approved programs. Pharmacists may receive credit for four contact hours (0.4 CEUs) towards their continuing education requirement for completion of an ACLS or PALS recertification course only once during a license period. Proof of completion of an ACLS or PALS recertification course shall be the certificate issued by the American Heart Association or its equivalent.

  (6) Attendance at Texas State Board of Pharmacy Board Meetings shall be recognized for continuing education credit as follows:

    (A) pharmacists shall receive credit for three contact hours (0.3 CEUs) towards their continuing education requirement for attending a full, public board business meeting in its entirety;

    (B) a maximum of six contact hours (0.6 CEUs) are allowed for attendance at a board meeting during a license period; and

    (C) proof of attendance for a complete board meeting shall be a certificate issued by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy.

  (7) Participation in a Texas State Board of Pharmacy appointed Task Force shall be recognized for continuing education credit as follows:

    (A) pharmacists shall receive credit for three contact hours (0.3 CEUs) towards their continuing education requirement for participating in a Texas State Board of Pharmacy appointed Task Force; and

    (B) proof of participation for a Task Force shall be a certificate issued by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy.

  (8) Attendance at programs presented by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy or courses offered by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy as follows:

    (A) pharmacists shall receive credit for the number of hours for the program or course as stated by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy; and

    (B) proof of attendance at a program presented by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy or completion of a course offered by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy shall be a certificate issued by the Texas State Board of Pharmacy.

  (9) Pharmacists shall receive credit toward their continuing education requirements for programs or courses approved by other state boards of pharmacy as follows:

    (A) pharmacists shall receive credit for the number of hours for the program or course as specified by the other state board of pharmacy; and

    (B) proof of attendance at a program or course approved by another state board of pharmacy shall be a certificate or other documentation that indicates:

      (i) name of the participant;

      (ii) title and completion date of the program;

      (iii) name of the approved provider sponsoring or cosponsoring the program;

      (iv) number of contact hours and/or CEUs awarded;

      (v) a dated certifying signature of the provider; and

      (vi) documentation that the program is approved by the other state board of pharmacy.

  (10) Completion of an Institute for Safe Medication Practices’ (ISMP) Medication Safety Self Assessment for hospital pharmacies or for community/ambulatory pharmacies shall be recognized for continuing education credit as follows:

    (A) pharmacists shall receive credit for three contact hours (0.3 CEUs) towards their continuing education requirement for completion of an ISMP Medication Safety Self Assessment; and

    (B) proof of completion of an ISMP Medication Safety Self Assessment shall be:

      (i) a continuing education certificate provided by an ACPE approved provider for completion of an assessment; or

      (ii) a document from ISMP showing completion of an assessment.

  (11) Pharmacists shall receive credit for three contact hours (0.3 CEUs) toward their continuing education requirements for taking and successfully passing an initial Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties certification examination administered by the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties. Proof of successfully passing the examination shall be a certificate issued by the Board of Pharmaceutical Specialties.

  (12) Programs approved by the American Medical Association (AMA) as Category 1 Continuing Medical Education (CME) and accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education subject to the following conditions:

    (A) pharmacists may receive credit for the completion of the same CME course only once during a license period;

    (B) pharmacists who present approved CME programs may receive credit for the time expended during the actual presentation of the program. Pharmacists may receive credit for the same presentation only once during a license period; and

    (C) proof of completion of a CME course shall contain the following information:

      (i) name of the participant;

      (ii) title and completion date of the program;

      (iii) name of the approved provider sponsoring or cosponsoring the program;

      (iv) number of contact hours and/or CEUs awarded; and

      (v) a dated certifying signature of the approved provider.

(f) Retention of continuing education records and audit of records by the board.

  (1) Retention of records. Pharmacists are required to maintain certificates of completion of approved continuing education for three years from the date of reporting the contact hours on a license renewal application. Such records may be maintained in hard copy or electronic format.

  (2) Audit of records by the board. The board shall audit the records of pharmacists for verification of reported continuing education credit. The following is applicable for such audits:

    (A) upon written request, a pharmacist shall provide to the board documentation of proof for all continuing education contact hours reported during a specified license period(s). Failure to provide all requested records during the specified time period constitutes prima facie evidence of failure to keep and maintain records and shall subject the pharmacist to disciplinary action by the board;

    (B) credit for continuing education contact hours shall only be allowed for approved programs for which the pharmacist submits documentation of proof reflecting that the hours were completed during the specified license period(s). Any other reported hours shall be disallowed. A pharmacist who has received credit for continuing education contact hours disallowed during an audit shall be subject to disciplinary action; and

    (C) a pharmacist who submits false or fraudulent records to the board shall be subject to disciplinary action by the board.

Here are the requirements to apply for a pharmacist license in Texas by reciprocity (license transfer).

In the state of Texas a pharmacist is required to complete 30 hours of CE during each regular renewal period.

To acquire a pharmacist license in Texas, you must meet certain eligibility criteria. These include being at least 18 years old and possessing either a Bachelor of Science degree in Pharmacy or a Pharm.D degree from a Board-approved ACPE accredited college, or alternatively, full certification from the Foreign Pharmacy Graduate Equivalency Committee (FPGEC) for graduates from non-US pharmacy programs. Additionally, completion of a minimum of 1,740 hours, as required by the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), is necessary. You also need to pass both the North American Pharmacist Licensure Examination (NAPLEX) and the Multistate Pharmacy Jurisprudence Examination (MPJE).

The application process involves several steps. Firstly, the applicant needs to apply to the Texas State Board of Pharmacy (TSBP) for licensure by examination, submitting the necessary application and fees online. Supplementary documentation, including identification, social security card, birth certificate, or other related documents, must be attached to the application. After graduation or completion, additional documents like the Graduation Affidavit, internship hours certification, and any necessary legal documents for name changes need to be submitted. Following this, applicants must undergo fingerprinting and register with the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy (NABP) to take the NAPLEX and MPJE exams. The TSBP reviews the application and documents, and once deemed eligible, applicants receive authorization to take the exams. After successfully passing these exams, the initial pharmacist license is issued for 30 days, and the first renewal fee must be paid within this period as per Board rule 283.9.

For more comprehensive information and detailed guidelines on the application process and requirements, you can visit the Texas State Board of Pharmacy’s applicant page here.

Finding engaging and affordable online CE is important for pharmacists in Texas. It can be difficult to find what you need to meet the requirements that Texas has set forth. For one low price, you can access all the CE you need to renew your license in one place — saving you time, money, and energy searching for options that fit your needs. Explore freeCE’s packages here.

freeCE has a wide variety of Texas-approved CE activities. freeCE adds new content to the catalog regularly to allow you to meet your requirements and also choose activities that will interest you the most. freeCE activities are available both live and on-demand to cater to your needs.

Texas CE Requirements For Pharmacy Technicians

Pharmacy technicians must complete the renewal of their registration every two years, prior to the end of the month in which their initial registration was issued.

Pharmacy technicians must complete 20 hours of CE every two years.

 

Biennial Continuing Education Requirements

Required Subject Area

Required Number of Hours

Human Trafficking

1

Texas-Specific Law (Exempt upon initial renewal)

1

General CE

Enough to reach the required total of 20 hours



Apply here to become a pharmacy technician or pharmacy technician trainee in Texas.

Pharmacy technicians in Texas are required to earn 20 contact hours of CE credit biennially. As an ACPE-accredited continuing education provider, freeCE can help you meet your requirements.

 

freeCE has a wide variety of activities to help you find the CE you need to renew your license. We add new content to our catalog of pharmacy technician CE on a regular basis so you can have your choice of cutting-edge, interesting topics.

Explore freeCE’s packages here.

View More State Information

A  C  D  F  G  H  I  K  L  M  N  O  P  R  S  T  U  V  W

A

C

D

F

G

H

Close

TRY FREECE FOR
FREE FOR 30 DAYS!

Welcome to our ALL NEW Website

If you already have a freeCE account, click “Account Login” in the navigation bar.

UNLOCK
15% OFF YOUR
PURCHASE

Sign up to PharmCon’s newsletter
to get exclusive discounts on
courses, study tools, and more!